Ford 1.0L takes third-straight International Engine of the Year award

2014 ford fiesta ecoboost 6 1 Ford 1.0L takes third straight International Engine of the Year award by Authcom, Nova Scotia\s Internet and Computing Solutions Provider in Kentville, Annapolis Valley

Filed under:

Ford’s 1.0-liter EcoBoost is proving to be The Little Engine That Could, and it continues to acquit itself well, finding favor as one of the best powerplants in the world. To confirm it yet again, the tiny mill just won the International Engine of the Year award for the third year in a row, likewise also nabbing the title in the Sub 1.0-litre category.

Packing 123 horsepower and 148 pound-feet of torque with overboost (125 lb-ft normally), the tiny engine combines impressive power in a size small enough to be a carry-on item for a commercial flight. North American buyers only got a taste of the award winner in the 2014 Fiesta, while the 1.0 EcoBoost has been available throughout the Ford lineup in Europe for a few years now. North American sales have reportedly been strong, however, and next up in North America, the mill will find its way into the 2015 Focus.

The panel of 82 jury members from 34 countries also named the Mercedes-AMG 2.0-litre turbo found in the A45, CLA45 and GLA45 AMG models with 355 hp and 332 lb-ft as the best New Engine for 2014. The electric powertrain from Tesla won Green Engine prize, and the 4.5-litre V8 from the Ferrari 458 Italia took home the honour of top Performance Engine yet again. You can check out all the winners below, and scroll down further to read Ford’s celebratory announcement of its award.

  • International Engine of the Year – Ford 999cc three-cylinder turbo
  • Green Engine – Tesla full-electric powertrain
  • New Engine – Mercedes-AMG 2.0-liter turbo
  • Performance Engine – Ferrari 4.5-liter eight-cylinder
  • Sub 1.0-liter – Ford 999cc three-cylinder turbo
  • 1.0-liter to 1.4-liter – Volkswagen Group 1.4-liter four-cylinder TSI Twincharger
  • 1.4-liter to 1.8-liter BMW-PSA Peugeot Citroën 1.6-liter four-cylinder turbo petrol
  • 1.8-liter to 2.0-liter – Mercedes-AMG 2.0-liter four-cylinder turbo
  • 2.0-liter to 2.5-liter – Audi 2.5-liter five-cylinder turbo
  • 2.5-liter to 3-liter – BMW 3.0-liter twin-power turbo six-cylinder gasoline
  • 3.0-liter to 4-liter – McLaren 3.8-liter eight-cylinder
  • Above 4.0-liter – Ferrari 4.5-liter eight-cylinder

Ford 1.0L takes third-straight International Engine of the Year award

Ford 1.0L takes third-straight International Engine of the Year award originally appeared on Autoblog Canada on Sat, 28 Jun 2014 14:00:00 EST. Please see our terms for use of feeds.

Permalink | Email this | Comments

Read more here: Ford News

Posted in Ford.